RUBEN GUERRERO: “He beats up women and goes to jail”

Posted: May 1, 2013 in BOXING, General
Tags: , , , , , ,

I doubt the promoters of Saturday’s big Showtime PPV card at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas, pitting Floyd Mayweather Jr. versus Robert Guerrero, are ready to add another fight to the card on short notice; but the fathers of both fighters wouldn’t mind stepping in the ring against one another.

Ruben Guerrero lit things up during a rather boring press conference, littering Mayweather’s dirty laundry across the dais, while defending his son.

“We’re going to beat up that woman beater, the one that beat up his wife; his wife in front of his kids,” said Guerrero. “You guys like that shit, you like this guy, a woman beater? He must have learned that from his dad. A woman beater baby, we’re going to beat that woman beater see how he’s gonna like it, he’s gonna get it from a real man.

At this point promoter Oscar De La Hoya put his hand on Guerrero and tried to calm him down, and took his place at the podium to diffuse the situation.

Walking away, Guerrero continued: “Damn woman beaters. We’re gonna beat that woman beater down. You guys hear me… beat up his wife in front of his kids. Nah, that’s bullshit baby… he talks about my son, he’s a hypocrite.

“How about him, woman beater! He beats up women and goes to jail.”

Mayweather eventually made his way to the podium, and didn’t acknowledge the tirade, simply thanking everyone and saying he was expecting a good fight on Saturday but he was ready.

In an interview on CBSSportsNet afterward, though, Mayweather did say: “My thing is, I’m a lot older and I’m a lot wiser. … If I did or didn’t do a crime, I served the time. And it’s about being classy. I was wild when I was younger.

“I try not to worry about that, I go out there and do what I got to do. That’s keep my composure, box and listen to the game plan.”

Mayweather said he enjoyed getting back to training with his father Floyd Sr., and his uncle Roger.

“It’s been a long and very comfortable camp,” Mayweather said. “I’m happy and I’m pretty sure my team is happy.”

At this point in the interview, there was a disruption in the middle of the dais, where both fathers were jawing at one another and had to be separated.

“It’s not about the fathers fighting,” Mayweather said laughingly.

But if both Pops had their way, they probably wouldn’t mind stepping in the ring.

Leave a Reply

